Le Glossaire Evolutif du Marketing d’Influence
Toute la Terminologie du Marketing d’Influence

LES MEILLEURES PRATIQUES

Le Glossaire Evolutif du Marketing d’Influence
Toute la Terminologie du Marketing d’Influence

LES MEILLEURES PRATIQUES






Dans une industrie débordante de jargon et de buzzwords, l'écosystème de l‘influence peut s’avérer difficile à appréhender. Le problème s’aggrave lorsque les termes sont utilisés de manière interchangeable, voire incorrectement. A l’inverse, une bonne compréhension de la terminologie vous aidera à maîtriser cette discipline puissante.

Ce glossaire évolutif a été conçu grâce aux leaders d’opinion, experts et professionnels du domaine : considérez-le comme votre point de référence pour tout ce qui relève du marketing d’influence. De l’identification des influenceurs aux différents échelons de l’engagement social, en passant par le ROI social, ce glossaire vise à couvrir tous les aspects de la discipline.

* Afin de garantir sa pertinence, ce glossaire sera régulièrement mis à jour car nous souhaitons que vous puissiez toujours compter dessus.

Les Bases : Le Vocabulaire Indispensable du Marketing d’Influence

Influence

La capacité à causer des effets mesurables ou à changer les impressions ou comportements.
Définition de Brian Solis
Ressource : Exploring and Defining Influence, A Framework for Influencer Marketing

Influenceur

Personne ou groupe de personnes ayant un potentiel d’influence supérieur à la moyenne en raison d’attributs tels que la fréquence de communication, le pouvoir de persuasion ou la taille et la position au sein du réseau social.
Définition de WOMMA
Ressources : Influencer Guidebook Slideshare, A Framework for Influencer Marketing

Le Marketing d’Influence

Une catégorie du marketing axée sur l’utilisation de l’influence d’individus pour amplifier le message de votre marque. Au lieu de communiquer auprès d’un large groupe de clients potentiels, les marques collaborent avec des influenceurs ayant déjà établi une relation de confiance avec votre audience cible afin d’aider à raconter l’histoire de votre marque.
Définition de Rachel Miller
Ressources : Rachel Miller’s Influencer Marketing Definition, Le Guide du Marketing d’Influence, AIM: Setting Sail with IM, Qu'est-ce que le Marketing d'Influence?

Relations Influenceurs

L’art de créer du capital social entre une marque et des experts indépendants grâce à la création de relations fortes et de confiance, fondées sur des objectifs partagés, des valeurs communes, et une authenticité sans faille.
Définition de Konstanze Alex-Brown
Ressource : Influencer Marketing 2.0: The Future of Influencer Marketing

Engagement Influenceur

Une fonction du travail avec les influenceurs basée sur une approche relationnelle où les marques interagissent avec l’influenceur en connaissance de ses intérêts et objectifs. Un engagement en continu peut prendre de nombreuses formes ; de partages et de commentaires sur les médias sociaux à la co-création de contenu et la collaboration autour d’un programme. Une approche transactionnelle est techniquement une forme d’engagement, mais il s’agit de la plus faible en terme de valeur mutuelle.
Définition de Lee Odden
Ressource : The Marketer’s Guide to Mastering Influencer Engagement

Sensibilisation Influenceur (Influencer Outreach)

Le processus initial de tentative de construction de relation avec un influenceur. Une sensibilisation influenceur réussie se situe au point parfait entre la compréhension de ce qui anime votre entreprise et ce qui stimule l’influenceur cible, afin de montrer à ce dernier en quoi l’association lui sera bénéfique. Elle ouvre la porte à un engagement futur, plus à la eHarmony qu’à la Tinder.
Définition de Shonali Burke
Ressources : The Three R’s of Influencer Outreach, Step-By-Step Guide to Influencer Outreach

Influencer Marketing Models

Marché d’Influence

Une technologie qui vise à associer marques et influenceurs sur la base de critères simplistes, à faciliter l’engagement avec des processus standardisés et à fournir des KPI cohérents imitant les mesures de performance de la publicité.
Définition de Nicolas Chabot
Synonymes anglophones : Opt-In Network, Pay-to-Play, Influentizing
Ressources : Two different paths to influencer marketing, Opt-out of Opt-In Network

Publicité Influenceur

La discipline repose sur l’utilisation du contenu influenceur comme une extension des tactiques de paid media du marketing digital, souvent confondue avec le marketing d’influence. La publicité influenceur consiste à acheter du contenu influenceur comme de l’achat média, soit en direct soit via des marchés d’influence. La régulation impose souvent de signaler ces contenus sponsorisés aux consommateurs en ajoutant un #pub ou #sp.
Définition de Pierre-Loic Assayag
Synonyme anglophone : Influencer Endorsement
Ressource : 5 Most Dangerous Myths of IM

Compensation des Influenceurs

La méthode par laquelle un influenceur est rétribué pour son temps, expertise ou partenariat avec une marque. Bien que la compensation puisse être financière, elle peut également prendre la forme d’expériences, de voyages ou de produits offerts. La compensation devrait être relationnelle, et non transactionnelle.
Ressources : The Seven Golden Rules to Paying Influencers, CMO Insights: 5 Keys to Identification

Co-création de Contenu Influenceur

Le processus par lequel une marque s’associe avec un influenceur, ou un groupe d’influenceurs, pour produire un contenu. Dans ce scénario, la marque et l’influenceur sont tous deux engagés dans le processus créatif et promotionnel.
Ressources : Guide to Infographie : Le Modèle Stratégique pour le Contenu et l’Influence, IM Content Framework

Contenu Généré par les Influenceurs (IGC pour Influencer Generated Content)

Un contenu créé par un influenceur qui mentionne une marque. La co-création implique de produire le contenu en partenariat, alors que pour l’IGC, l’influenceur a toute sa liberté de création et met à profit l’authenticité de sa voix pour engager avec son audience. Similaire à l’UGC (Contenu Généré par les Utilisateurs), l’IGC est un contenu authentique créé par une personne mentionnant les produits ou services de la marque.

Sélection des Influenceurs : Mots-clés d’Identification

Identification des Influenceurs

La capacité de lier les objectifs commerciaux aux personnes qui peuvent aider votre marque à les atteindre. Sélectionner les influenceurs avec qui s’associer signifie rechercher l’authenticité et la confiance de l’audience que vous essayez de toucher. L’élément clé pour choisir les influenceurs avec qui collaborer est d’avoir un objectif en tête et de sélectionner ceux qui peuvent vous aider à l’atteindre.
Définition de Brian Fanzo
Ressource : Guide to Influencer Identification

What is Influence?

Portée

Une mesure de la taille de l’audience d’un influenceur. En plus de posséder le pouvoir d’inciter à l’action, un influenceur a un nombre de followers plus élevé que la moyenne dans un marché ou une niche donné.
Définition de Brian Solis
Ressource : 3 R’s of Influence

Résonance

Une mesure de la quantité d’activités que génère un influenceur en publiant du contenu. Quelqu’un qui créé du contenu dont les gens raffolent et avec lequel ils aiment engager fera beaucoup de vagues avec un article de blog ou un simple tweet, car son contenu résonne avec ses fans et followers.
Définition de Brian Solis
Ressource : 3 R’s of Influence

Pertinence

Une mesure de la pertinence d’un influenceur vis-à-vis d’un sujet lui-même pertinent pour votre marque. Recherchez la pertinence mutuelle. Pour la trouver, considérez les mots-clés qui font apparaître les influenceurs sur Google, ainsi que les tags et catégories sur leur blog, les hashtags qu’ils utilisent sur Twitter et Facebook, et les thèmes des groupes dans lesquels ils s’impliquent.
Définition de Brian Solis
Ressource : 3 R’s of Influence

Célébrité (vs Influenceur)

Une célébrité inspire les gens à la suivre ; un influenceur les inspire à passer à l’action. Si vous allez au supermarché, vous reconnaîtrez sûrement une célébrité, pas un influenceur. Un influenceur peut être, d’une certaine manière, une célébrité au sein du groupe auquel il appartient, mais le grand public n’aura aucune idée de qui il s’agit.
Définition de Gini Dietrich
Ressource : Eight Tips for Influencer Marketing Done Well, Scott Disick’s IM Fail

Archétype d’Influenceur

Un modèle des caractéristiques clés qu’une catégorie d’influenceurs possèderaient. Les marques devraient établir des archétypes pour catégoriser les types d’influenceurs avec lesquelles elles travaillent. Ces caractéristiques peuvent inclure le nombre de followers, l’état actuel de la relation avec la marque, le type de contenu qu’ils créent, comment ils aiment être engagés, et à quels KPI les lier.
Lien : The Many Faces of Dreamforce Influencers
Ressources : Many Faces of Influence eBook, Many Faces of Influence Graphic

La Gestion de la Relation Influenceur

Gestion de la Relation Influenceur (Influencer Relationship Management - IRM)

Le processus de construction et de gestion de relations sur le long terme avec un groupe d’influenceurs sélectionnés ; souvent décrit comme le “CRM des marketeurs”. Les programmes de Gestion de la Relation Influenceur visent à augmenter le nombre de mentions positives de votre marque parmi les leaders d’opinion sélectionnés afin de générer de la visibilité et de la recommandation pour votre marque. Les programmes de Gestion de la Relation Influenceur performants visent à construire des relations continues et collaboratives avec de pertinents influenceurs clés et à faciliter la co-création de contenu.
Définition de Kirk Crenshaw
Liens : Do you know what Influencer Relationship Management Is?, From CRM to IRM: The Rise of Social Influence

L'échelle de la Relation

Une convention pour définir le stade de la relation d’une marque avec un influenceur. Tout influenceur part du stade “non informé” et gravit les échelons pour éventuellement devenir un ”ambassadeur”. Comme pour toute relation, il y a des pas en avant et en arrière. Cela signifie que lorsqu’un influenceur atteint un stade, il n’est pas garanti qu’il passe à celui d'après. Un stade peut être rapidement atteint et le suivant prendre deux fois plus de temps. Parfois, vous pouvez atteindre le dernier échelon et finalement redescendre au précédent. Maintenir une relation au top nécessite du travail.
Définition de Amy Higgins
Lien : Traackr’s Relationship Funnel

Ambassadeur

Une personne ayant une réelle affinité avec une marque et qui la recommande et la promeut auprès de son réseau à la fois online et offline de manière organique. Les ambassadeurs ne sont pas toujours des influenceurs. Certains auront une grande audience et feront autorité dans le domaine, d’autres non. Les ambassadeurs croient sincèrement aux produits ou services de la marque et les recommandent à leur réseau.
Liens : 5 Key Stages of Influencer Relations, Love Your Influential Detractors

Ambassadeur Influent

Les individus qui adhèrent à la vision de la marque et sont prêts à la promouvoir, à la défendre et la faire avancer sans être payés pour leurs mentions. Certains individus sont influents de par leur contenu et passion, et dans bien des cas, ils peuvent être recrutés comme on recrute un mercenaire. Les ambassadeurs influents sont au-delà de ça. Le rêve américain est bien en vie pour quiconque est prêt à trouver sa passion et à apprendre à créer un contenu unique qui peut influencer d’autres personnes.
Définition de Joe Martin
Liens : Social Ladder of Influencer Engagement, 2017: The Year of the Influencer, How Social Networks, Influencers, and Other Marketing Channels Impact the Holiday Shopping season, Influencer Marketing From the influencers

En Continu

La meilleure façon d’approcher les programmes de marketing d’influence est d’adopter une stratégie en continu. Il s’agit du processus qui consiste pour une marque à engager de manière continue avec ses influenceurs afin de construire des relations à long terme et des programmes mutuellement bénéfiques. Au lieu d’engager avec les influenceurs seulement autour d’une campagne ou d’un événement, cette méthode vise à engager en continu en créant du contenu, des événements et des campagnes/offres marketing tout au long de l’année.
Définition de Amisha Gandhi
Ressource : The Marketer’s Guide to Mastering Influencer Engagement

Mesure du Succès : Définitions des Indicateurs de Performance de l'Influence

Mentions

Le nombre de fois où un influenceur mentionne la marque dans son contenu. Les mentions peuvent être obtenues de manière organique ou payante.
Ressource : Travelocity Case Study

Impressions 

Le nombre de vues généré par un post ou un contenu spécifique sur une période donnée. Cette métrique est souvent utilisée pour calculer le Coût Par Impression (CPI).
Ressource : A Framework for Measuring IM Success

Part de voix

Le pourcentage ou la portion de la conversation qu’occupe votre marque avec les consommateurs ou influenceurs ciblés par rapport à vos concurrents. La conversation peut avoir lieu sur les médias sociaux, les blogs, ou quelque soit l’endroit où votre audience cible entend parler des marques.
Définition de TrackMaven
Ressource : A Framework for Measuring IM Success

Return on Relationships (RoR ou Retour sur Relation)

La valeur accumulée par une personne ou une marque grâce au développement d’une relation sur la durée. Le ROI se mesure simplement en euros et en centimes. Le RoR est la valeur (perçue et réelle) qui s’accumule au fur et à mesure du temps grâce à la fidélisation, la recommandation et le partage.
Définition de Ted Rubin  
Ressource : Return on Relationship: The New Measure of Success

Return on Influence (ou Retour sur Influence)

Return On Influence fut le premier ouvrage dédié au marketing d’influence sur les médias sociaux, rédigé par Mark Schaefer en 2012. Dans ce livre, il identifie le déplacement du pouvoir des annonceurs et entreprises médias vers les influenceurs, et prédit l’utilisation répandue du marketing d’influence. Il souligne que le “Return on Influence” n’est pas nécessairement une métrique, mais une tendance à capitaliser sur la confiance entre des individus et leur audience en ligne.
Définition de Mark W Schaefer
Ressources : Cracking the Code on Your Influencer Marketing Budget & ROI, Get Your IM Budget & ROI, Pourquoi Investir Dans le Marketing d’Influence

ROI Social (Social Return on Investment ou Retour sur Investissement Social)

Le retour associé aux efforts marketing d’une marque sur les médias sociaux. Son calcul prend en compte le temps, l’argent et les ressources mobilisés par rapport aux résultats financiers obtenus. Ce calcul se mesure en euros.
Resources: Comprehensive Guide to Social Media ROIGary Vee on Social Media ROI

Le domaine du marketing d’influence étant en constante évolution, ce glossaire évoluera également. N'hésitez pas à nous dire quels termes manquent selon vous et nous ferons notre possible pour les définir à l’occasion de notre prochaine mise à jour. Nous souhaitons consolider la terminologie du marketing d’influence et aimerions beaucoup avoir vos retours.

Si vous souhaitez aller plus loin dans votre connaissance du marketing d’influence, inscrivez-vous à L'Académie du Marketing d'Influence (AIM). Vous y apprendrez comment planifier, construire, exécuter et mesurer les résultats d’une stratégie de marketing d’influence intégrée aux objectifs marketing generaux de votre organisation.


This post is brought to you by Traackr,

the technology platform behind the world’s leading influencer marketing programs. Want to become the smartest marketer you know? Subscribe to get better at influencer marketing, one newsletter at a time.

More News

Localize and Translate with Localizer

The Living Glossary for Influencer Marketing
Curating Every Influencer Marketing Term You’ve Ever Heard

Best Practices

The Living Glossary for Influencer Marketing
Curating Every Influencer Marketing Term You’ve Ever Heard

Best Practices

Marketer-exauso-mania, noun (mark-ee-ter-ex-aa-s-o-man-ee-a)

1. Widespread exhaustion of marketers induced by attempt to keep up with the latest buzzwords
2. Yet another buzzword marketers have to keep up with

In an industry filled with jargon and buzzwords, the influence landscape can be difficult to navigate. This problem is confounded when terms are used interchangeably, or even, incorrectly. On the flip side, having a solid foundation of “what’s what” will help you master this worthwhile craft.

Curated from industry thought leaders, experts, and practitioners, consider this living* glossary your home base or HQ for everything influencer marketing. From influencer identification to relationship ladder to return on influence, these terms and definitions span all aspects of the practice.

* To uphold its authenticity, this glossary and its definitions will be regularly updated. It’s always-on, so you can count on it.

The Basics: Must-Know Influencer Marketing Lingo

Influence

The ability to cause desirable and measurable actions and outcomes.
Defined By: Brian Solis
Resources: Exploring and Defining Influence, A Framework for Influencer Marketing

Influencer

A person or group of people who possess greater than average advantage potential to influence due to attributions such as frequency of communication, personal persuasiveness or size of and centrality to a social network.
Defined By: WOMMA
Resources: Influencer Guidebook Slideshare, A Framework for Influencer Marketing

Influencer Marketing

A byproduct of marketing that focuses on using an individual’s influence to amplify your brand’s message. Instead of marketing to a large group of potential customers brands collaborate with influencers who already have trust and rapport with your desired audience to help tell the brand story.
Defined By: Rachel Miller
Resources: Rachel Miller’s Influencer Marketing Definition, Guide to Influencer Marketing, AIM: Setting Sail with IM, What is Influencer Marketing?

Influencer Relations

The art of creating social capital between a brand and independent industry experts, by building strong, trusted relationships based on shared goals, common values, and uncompromised authenticity.
Defined By: Konstanze Alex-Brown
Resources: Influencer Marketing 2.0: The Future of Influencer Marketing

Influencer Engagement

A function of a relationship-based approach to working with influencers where brands interact based on knowledge of the influencer's interests and goals. Ongoing engagement can take many forms from social sharing and commenting to content co-creation to program collaboration. A transactional approach to interacting with influencers is technically a form of engagement, but it is the lowest form in terms of mutual value.
Defined By: Lee Odden
Resources: The Marketer’s Guide to Mastering Influencer Engagement

Influencer Outreach

The process of initially attempting to form a relationship with an influencer. Successful influencer outreach sits at that sweet spot of understanding what makes your business tick, what makes a desired influencer tick, and showing the latter why engaging with the former would benefit him/her. It opens the door for future engagement; more eHarmony than Tinder.
Defined By: Shonali Burke
Resources: The Three R’s of Influencer Outreach, Step-By-Step Guide to Influencer Outreach

Influencer Marketing Models

Influencer Marketplace

A technology that aims to match brands and participating influencers based on simple criteria, facilitate fulfillment of paid activities through standardized processes and provide KPIs that attempt to mimic advertising performance measures.
Defined By: Nicolas Chabot
Synonyms: Opt-In Network, Pay-to-Play, Influentizing
Resources: Two different paths to influencer marketing, Opt-out of Opt-In Network

Influencer Advertising

The discipline of leveraging influencer content as an extension of marketing’s paid digital media practice, often confused with influencer marketing. Influencer advertising consists of buying influencer content as media directly from influencers or through influencer marketplaces. Government regulations often require strict disclosure to consumers of sponsored influencer content by adding the mention #ad or #sponsored to such content.
Defined By: Pierre-Loic Assayag
Synonyms: Influencer Endorsement
Resources: 5 Most Dangerous Myths of IM

Influencer Compensation

The method by which an influencer is reimbursed for their time, expertise or partnership with a brand. Although some compensation is monetary, compensation can also include offering the influencer experiences, trips, or free product. Influencer compensation should be relational, not transactional.
Resources: The Seven Golden Rules to Paying Influencers, CMO Insights: 5 Keys to Identification

Influencer Content Co-Creation

The process of a brand partnering with an influencer, or group of influencers, to produce a piece of content. In this scenario, both the brand and the influencer impact the creative process and co-promote the content together.
Resources: Guide to Content Marketing & Influencer Strategy, IM Content Framework

Influencer-Generated Content (IGC)

A piece of content an influencer creates that mentions a brand. In co-creation, the content is created in partnership with the brand but with IGC, the influencer has more creative freedom and leverages their authentic voice to engage with their audience. Similar to user-generated content (UGC), IGC is authentic content created by a person mentioning the brand’s products or services.

Influencer Selection: Identification Keywords

Influencer Identification

The ability to map business goals downward to the people who can help your brand achieve them. Selecting influencers to partner with means looking for trust and authenticity with the desired audience you are trying to reach. The key element of picking influencers to work with is starting with a success in mind and selecting influencers who can help your brand achieve that success.
Defined By: Brian Fanzo
Resources: Guide to Influencer Identification

What is Influence?

Reach

A measure of an influencer’s audience size. Aside from possessing qualities that have the power to drive action, an influencer has an above-average number of followers in a specific niche or market.
Defined By: Brian Solis
Resources: 3 R’s of Influence

Resonance

A measure of how much activity an influencer generates by publishing content. Someone who creates content people crave and love to engage with will make a major wave with a blog post and gain a lot of traction with a single tweet, because the content resonates with fans and followers.
Defined By: Brian Solis
Resources: 3 R’s of Influence

Relevance

A measure of how relevant an influencer is to a topic that is relevant to your brand. Look for mutual relevance. Find this by assessing keywords the influencers are showing up for when you do Google searches, as well as tags and categories on their blog, hashtags they are using on Twitter and Facebook, and the topics of groups they are involved in.
Defined By: Brian Solis
Resources: 3 R’s of Influence

Celebrity (Vs Influencer)

A celebrity inspires a following; an influencer inspires a following to take action. If you go into the grocery store, you’ll likely recognize a celebrity, but not an influencer. An influencer may be a celebrity, of sorts, in their own peer group, but the general public will have no idea who they are.
Defined By: Gini Dietrich
Resources: Eight Tips for Influencer Marketing Done Well, Scott Disick’s IM Fail

Influencer Archetype

A model example of key characteristics a type of influencer would possess. Brands should establish archetypes to categorize the types of influencers they work with. These characteristics might include the size of following, current relationship status with the brand, the type of content they create, how they like to be engaged, and what KPIs they should be tied to.
Link: The Many Faces of Dreamforce Influencers
Resources: Many Faces of Influence eBook, Many Faces of Influence Graphic

Scale Intimacy: Influencer Relationship Management

Influencer Relationship Management (IRM)

The process of building and managing long-term relationships with a select group of influencers. Often described as ‘CRM for Marketers’. IRM programs aim to increase the positive mentions of your brand among select opinion leaders, driving brand visibility and advocacy. Successful IRM programs aim to build always-on and collaborative relationships with key relevant influencers and facilitate the co-creation of content.
Defined By: Kirk Crenshaw
Link: Do you know what Influencer Relationship Management Is?, From CRM to IRM: The Rise of Social Influence

Relationship Ladder

A convention to define a brand’s relationship with an influencer. All influencers begin in “unaware” and climb the ladder to eventually become an “advocate”. Just like any relationship, it has ebbs and flows. Meaning, that once an influencer reaches one step, it's not always a given that they will naturally move up to the next step. You might take one step quickly, and then take twice as long to reach the next step. Other times, you might reach the top of the ladder only to fall back a step. Like any relationship, it takes work to stay on top.
Defined By: Amy Higgins
Links: Traackr’s Relationship Funnel

Brand Advocate

A person who has a genuine affinity towards a brand and actively endorses or promotes the brand to their network both online and offline, organically. Advocates are not always influencers. Some brand advocates will have a large social following and authority in the space, while others will not. Advocates authentically believe in the brand’s products or services and recommend them to their network.
Links: 5 Key Stages of Influencer Relations, Love Your Influential Detractors

Influential Advocate

The people who truly believe in a brand’s vision and are willing to promote, defend, and advance that brand without being paid for every single mention. People are influential for their content or passion and in many cases, these people can be just a one time hired gun. Influencer advocates are beyond that. The American Dream is alive and well to anyone willing to find their passion and learn to create unique content that can influence others.
Defined By: Joe Martin
Links: Social Ladder of Influencer Engagement, 2017: The Year of the Influencer, How Social Networks, Influencers, and Other Marketing Channels Impact the Holiday Shopping season, Influencer Marketing From the influencers

Always-On

For influencer marketing programs, an always-on strategy is the best approach. The process of a brand continuously engaging with their influencers to build long-term relationships and programs that are mutually beneficial. Rather than only engaging influencers for a campaign or event, this method is intended to increase engagement with influencers by continuing to build content, amplification at events and marketing campaigns/offers year round.
Defined By: Amisha Gandhi
Resources: The Marketer’s Guide to Mastering Influencer Engagement

Measure Success: Influencer Analytics Definitions

Brand Mentions

The number of times an influencer mentions a brand in their content. Mentions can be organic or paid.
Resources: Travelocity Case Study

Impressions 

The number of views that a specific post or piece of content received over a specific period of time.This measurement is often used to calculate Cost Per Impression (CPI).
Resources: A Framework for Measuring IM Success

Share-of-Voice

The percentage or portion of the conversation with target consumers or influencers your brand owns versus your competitors. This conversation can be across social media, blogs, or any other place your target audience hears from brands.
Defined By: TrackMaven
Resources: A Framework for Measuring IM Success

Return on Relationships (RoR)

The value that is accrued by a person or brand due to nurturing a relationship. ROI is simple $’s and cents. RoR is the value (both perceived and real) that will accrue over time through loyalty, recommendations, and sharing.
Defined By: Ted Rubin  
Resources: Return on Relationship: The New Measure of Success

Return on Influence

"Return On Influence" was the first book on social influence marketing, written by Mark Schaefer in 2012. In this book he identified the shift in power from advertisers and media companies to influencers and correctly predicted the widespread use of influence marketing. He emphasized that "return on influence" is not necessarily a metric, but a trend about capitalizing on trust between individuals and their online audiences.
Defined By: Mark W Schaefer
Resources: Cracking the Code on Your Influencer Marketing Budget & ROI, Get Your IM Budget & ROI, Why Invest in Influencer Marketing

Social ROI

The return associated with a brand’s social marketing efforts. A calculation that takes into account the time, money, and resources put towards social efforts measured against the monetary outcome. This calculation should be measured in dollars.
Resources: Comprehensive Guide to Social Media ROIGary Vee on Social Media ROI

As the influence space evolves, so will this glossary. Let us know what terms you see missing from this list and we will do our best to define them in the next glossary update. As we begin to solidify these terms within the space, we are always open to your thoughts and feedback.

If you want to take your influencer education to the next level, enroll in the Academy of Influencer Marketing (AIM). You will learn to plan, build, execute, and measure an influencer marketing strategy that integrates with the overall marketing goals of your organization.

It’s time to solve buzzword fatigue once and for all and navigate the minutia of influencer lingo with confidence and ease. We hope these definitions provided you with the clarity you need to get your team aligned and poised for successful influencer strategies.

This post is brought to you by Traackr,

the technology platform behind the world’s leading influencer marketing programs. Want to become the smartest marketer you know? Subscribe to get better at influencer marketing, one newsletter at a time.

More News